Friday, January 8, 2010

whatcha reading!?

So I've been working/nursing 2 books now since, ha, last year!! One is 'The Lost Symbol' by Dan Brown and the other is 'Lullaby' by Chuck Palianunck (or something like that!)
I can't bring myself to finish reading either to be honest!

When I like, no, not like.... when I looove a book, I can't put it down! I will read it every opportunity I get and am usually done in a week or two! Although these two authors are my favourites, I can't seem to get through this books!

Even by forcing myself.... ugh!! I'm in a rut!

Dan Brown wrote a bunch of great books! All of which I read and fast! Angels and Demons was fantastic! The DaVinci Code was the first book I ever read without actually being told to read it! Even the two less popular books, Digital Fortress and Deception Point were quick, easy reads for me! Adventures full of mystery, conspiracies and intense characters! This book however is just bland to me.... so far anyway! He's just stayed so true to his previous way of writing, which I initially loved, but can't seem to get sucked into as usual! Another turn off for me is the thickness of the book... I used to love reading big, thick books because they gave me a sense of accomplishment when I was done! Now I prefer smaller, get-to-the-point books!

Chuck Palahniuk has written great, interesting, weird novels!! The author of 'Fight Club' obviously got his recognition when Brad Pitt and Edward Norton starred as his characters on the big screen! His less famous books are just as good, full of weird, twisted, often dark sense of humour that I can appreciate! My first book of his 'Invisible Monsters' did in fact take me longer than usual to finish, and was confusing as shit in the beginning, but I'm glad I stuck with it because it didn't disappoint in the end... and as with most Palahniuk novels, ended with a surprise twist ending! I want to finish this book so badly.... and despite it's size (which is quite small) you'd think I could read it all in one sitting.... but he's a little harder to digest than Dan Brown....

Either way, I'm sure I'll finish them! I should finish 'The Lost Symbol' first though, since I told Nicolas he can borrow it when I'm done!

Check them out.... I'm sure they are good reads... my mind is probably just being lazy!!

No comments:

Post a Comment