Friday, January 8, 2010

whatcha reading!?

So I've been working/nursing 2 books now since, ha, last year!! One is 'The Lost Symbol' by Dan Brown and the other is 'Lullaby' by Chuck Palianunck (or something like that!)
I can't bring myself to finish reading either to be honest!

When I like, no, not like.... when I looove a book, I can't put it down! I will read it every opportunity I get and am usually done in a week or two! Although these two authors are my favourites, I can't seem to get through this books!

Even by forcing myself.... ugh!! I'm in a rut!

Dan Brown wrote a bunch of great books! All of which I read and fast! Angels and Demons was fantastic! The DaVinci Code was the first book I ever read without actually being told to read it! Even the two less popular books, Digital Fortress and Deception Point were quick, easy reads for me! Adventures full of mystery, conspiracies and intense characters! This book however is just bland to me.... so far anyway! He's just stayed so true to his previous way of writing, which I initially loved, but can't seem to get sucked into as usual! Another turn off for me is the thickness of the book... I used to love reading big, thick books because they gave me a sense of accomplishment when I was done! Now I prefer smaller, get-to-the-point books!

Chuck Palahniuk has written great, interesting, weird novels!! The author of 'Fight Club' obviously got his recognition when Brad Pitt and Edward Norton starred as his characters on the big screen! His less famous books are just as good, full of weird, twisted, often dark sense of humour that I can appreciate! My first book of his 'Invisible Monsters' did in fact take me longer than usual to finish, and was confusing as shit in the beginning, but I'm glad I stuck with it because it didn't disappoint in the end... and as with most Palahniuk novels, ended with a surprise twist ending! I want to finish this book so badly.... and despite it's size (which is quite small) you'd think I could read it all in one sitting.... but he's a little harder to digest than Dan Brown....

Either way, I'm sure I'll finish them! I should finish 'The Lost Symbol' first though, since I told Nicolas he can borrow it when I'm done!

Check them out.... I'm sure they are good reads... my mind is probably just being lazy!!

<--------------- Feed my fish!!!!

They're hungry!!

RIP Baby

My cat 'Baby' passed away January 2, 2010 :(

I'm still very heart broken by it and still feel guilty about having to decide to put her down. But I couldn't be selfish and put her through pain, just because I didn't want to deal with losing another pet. Baby was a 10 yr old white cat with beige and gray spots and beautiful green eyes.

So this is my goodbye to Baby.... I hope you forgive me and I miss you at my feet every night. I love you! :)


Resolutions................ ummmm..........

I don't usually make resolutions! Because I'm a firm believer that rules are meant to be broken... well, not meant to all the time... just happen to sometimes... and making new rules for myself in the new year only leads to disappointing results and who needs to start off the new year disappointed?!

But! With that said.... maybe I'll come up with a pseudo list of rules/resolutions to live by this year:

1- I will be less superstitious! - I will not believe that I will receive 7 years of bad luck for not forwarding an email about astrology to my friends!
2- I will only purchase a Starbucks/Second Cup latte twice a week (not including weekends!) - enough of my hard earned money gets pumped into those uber big companies who don't actually need it as much as I do!
3- I will drink more than 1.5 Liters of water a day! - this aids in dehydration, helps the skin look younger, and will give me even more of an excuse to get off my ass at my desk and run to the washroom every ten minutes!
4- I will go to the gym at least 3 times a week! - or have some sort of physical activity to make the heart pump faster... this includes sexual relations with the boy toy!
5- I will learn to walk in heels again! - because even though it's bad for your posture and body, I wanna look damn sexy and not like an idiot on stilts!
6- I will eat more green vegetables! - because my poop is rarely ever greenish and I think this might do the trick!
7- I will find a way to have ice cream and not poop it all out half hr later! - hhmmm, Lactaid doesn't work, and I've built an immunity to lactose pills in general.... gonna have to get scientific on this one!
8- I will write a short story! - and not the beginning of one and just leave it half way through when I get bored of it!
9- I will do more yoga! - as I age, my flexibility is getting worse, hence, yoga makes it all better!
10- I will not cry over everything! - being super emotional, crazy irrational, and stupidly sensitive will not get me or my point across ever... so I will work on becoming a stone cold bitch!
11- I will make more friends! - I will widen my circle of acquaintances/friends, maybe even join social clubs of some sort!
12- I will limit my chocolate intake! - maybe to once a day.....
13- I will make lists! - because there is always so much to do, and so little time, that I end up forgetting important stuff!
14- I will be more firm with my decisions! - and not buckle and stand tall!
15- I will learn to say "No" and not feel guilty about it! - because Dr. Phil told me I should!
16- I will wear more yellow! - because bright colours may make us look heavier, but make us more happy!
17- I will learn a new skill! - maybe fencing! or line dancing! or Zumba!!
18- I will go horse-back riding! - because I wanna!!!!!
19- I will find a job that doesn't use, abuse, and make me miserable! - cuz I wanna be appreciated, admired, and make more money!
20- I will do more things for myself! - just because my Virgo sign is a servant, doesn't mean I should be!
21- I will love unconditionally, nag less, and not pressure others to see things my way! - instead I will do to them as they do to me! Sometimes that's the only way people learn!

oooook.... I could keep going but I'll stop there!

HAPPPPPPPY NEW YEAR!!!


Dear Readers, Loyal fans, and fabulous friends.....

My deepest and most heartfelt hopes for a very happy, prosperous, shiny, lucky, fantastic, full of love new year!! May 2010 bring you everything you crave, desire, need, and want!!

xoxoxo
Veronica