Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Great gift idea!!

So I'm always looking for great, unique, fun gift ideas!! Something no one has or has even thought of wanting! Some might call these useless gifts.... lol.... but I think they're extra special because someone took the time to find something and customize/specialize it for the recipient!

With that said, my boyfriend is the luckiest SOB I know!! I've given him all sorts of great gifts! But the one below was one of my faves! Through a website called MyDavinci (www.mydavinci.com) I got this 4 panel Andy Warhol inspired pic of us for Christmas!! I knew this was his favourite picture with the 2 of us in it, so I got them to make one up for me on a 14X14 canvas! For an extra $5, they sent me a copy of the artwork before mailing it to me and

I was allowed to make any suggestions or comments until they got it exactly like I wanted it! And delivery was quick! It was absolutely beautiful! I couldn't have been happier with the product! I highly suggest it!

This website gets my thumbs up!!!

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Don't piss off Mr. Big!!


that's right.... the chicken pissed him off.... look what happened! That's it's head between his legs!! Grrrrrr!!!!!!!!

Where can I get some of this?

... and what benefits am I really gonna get!! C'mon... sell me!! haha!

high fashion??


How does one walk on these?? Seriously??

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Men men men men manly men men men.......

If you know which show I'm talking about just from the title of this entry, well, you my friend are as big a fan as I am! 

I love 'Two and a Half Men'!  I think the show is brilliant!!  I love the cast, it's writers, their story lines and plots!  So needless to say, I was really disappointed when I heard that Charlie Sheen wants out!

 
I love Charlie Sheen!  Ever since he played "Ricky Vaughn" in "Major League" the movie!  He's funny, he's cocky, he's by no means attractive at all, but watching him play a bachelor playboy who's love of bowling shirts I will never understand, on the show for the last 10 years has made him a playful, fun, and light character!  I don't even really get how he gets all those chicks wearing Bermuda shorts and socks up to the ankle!  But nonetheless, one I like to tune into and watch make mistakes over and over again!

Apparently, after his recent stint in rehab for threatening his wife with a knife, was that it?, he decided that he wants to go back to movies and wants to leave the show!  He's reportedly asked for $1.5 million dollars PER episode!!!  

That's more then Seinfeld, Frasier and the cast of Friends!!  All those lovable characters got booted off their shows for asking for more!

Now, if he's asking for this, knowing they won't give it to him and this is a way out, ok... fine!  I suppose!
BUT if he will stay on, if by a miracle, the Emmy award winning, top rated prime time show's producers decide to take him up on his offer, well I think that's just INSANITY!!

Tell me!  WHO deserves $1.5 million dollars for a week of work!?  WHO???!! 

NO ONE that's who!!!!

I love you Charlie Sheen, but hit the road Jack......  and don't come back no more!!


RIP Charlie Harper!  You'll be missed! 

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Fashion - Size 0 versus Size 12

Recently, V Magazine had photographer Terry Richardson shoot a fashion spread with two models, size 0 Jacquelyn Jablonski, and size 12 Crystal Renn. Both ladies were fashioned, styled and made to pose the same way, to prove that no matter at what size, beauty is beauty!

check out this article and the amazing photos of the photo shoot - http://fashionista.com/2009/12/does-size-matter/?img=4

I love that they did this! How empowering is it to size 12 women knowing that they can, in fact, look just as good as those size 0 girls in the fashion magazines!
Crystal Renn is a plus size model - I hate that they call a size 12 plus size! That is the standard size for a woman in North America! - who has written a memoir of her career! At age 17, she began to model and developed an eating disorder from trying to look like a very petite and unnatural version of her true self! After becoming quite sick from it, she took some time off and embraced her new body! This girl was made to be a size 12! So why fight it? She took up what the fashion world calls plus size modeling and is now the most famous Ford plus size model!

Her book- "Hungry"
Before and after pics....


She is quite inspiring! Daring to do even nude shoots just to prove to the world that bigger can be beautiful! That women have curves! and that with all the right make-up, accessories, styling and posing, a plus size model can rock any outfit as well as her size 0 model mate! It's nice to have such a powerful voice out there in the fashion world! Let's hope she starts a new trend of models.... women who look like everyday women!

Below is a pic of her and designer Jean Paul Gaultier in a dress he designed especially for her in his Spring collection show in 2006!

I just hope my size 12 butt looks as good as hers!

fun at the parking meter...........


..... ya... me too buddy!

Mutant turtle... literally!

Anyone who is a Simpson's fan will know the 3-eyed fish, Blinky, made famous on one episode when Mr. Burns comes to Homer's house and Marge feeds it to him, on which he chokes on and sends flying across the room.... the 3-eyed fish was mutated do to nuclear contamination in Springfields' water!

Blinky, served a-la-Marge

That same reason may be why this little guy below was born with 2 heads!! Literally, a mutant ninja turtle.... well, maybe not a ninja, but you get my drift........

Cute little guy? ... guys? aren't they?.... it? .... he?!???

Monday, March 15, 2010

Ta - da!!!!

Now featuring ME!! check out my stuff under "projects"!!
http://www.ubloom.com/index.php?option=com_uproject&task=list&Itemid=232

... speaking of webbed....

a shark with webbed toes???!!!

O..... M...... G!

Louboutin's I wanna look like a Thundercat!! Puuuuurty please!!!!!!!!!

... got webbed toes?!

Here's a way to "dress" them up......


Ewwwh!

.... a trip to the mall....

Recently I took a trip to Pacific mall in Markham... otherwise known as Asian central! Supposingly I was suppose to find great knock off at bargain prices... that is until I decided to go shopping with 2 other white girls!

The mall is made up of a bunch of stores, like all malls, but they are enclosed within glass walls, which was quite different for me! Many of them, however, carried the same stuff! So when my friend Vio went into one place and asked the price of an unmarked item, they looked her up and down and said, "$75"! Blast! She came out of the store huffing and puffing... "they think cuz I'm white, they can rip me off!" I'm not sure that this was the case... but nonetheless, not to sound racist, but we all know that many cultures, aka Asians, like to bargain down the price... even when I worked at People's Jewelers, they would try! So she was mortified and applaud that they were trying to rip her off! She went into another store one aisle away and found the exact same item for $30!

Nonetheless, the mall was closing and we didn't have much time to look around... but I did manage to come out of it with a few treasures! One was a great $15 dress that managed to fit both Vio (size 1) and I (size 10)! We both bought it, just different patterns! That, and these lovely photos.....

Dildo holder? Cigar holder?? tampon can holder??? who knows......

aaah and this sign.... do they mean buy 1, get 2 at 50% off.... or buy 1, get 2nd 50% off...... hhmmmm.... *scratching my head*

..... where's Princess?!


Friday, March 5, 2010

7 random thoughts at 4:34pm....

1 - wouldn't water from a new filter taste cleaner?
2 - I need to pee
3 - I really like Katy Perry, she's quirky!
4 - I want to see my baby!
5 - yuuummmm nutella and banana crepes!!!
6 - I haven't had a fish as a pet in a while
7 - what else can I pimp other than my phone & Ipod?!

Hot yoga!

Ever hear of hot yoga?!

It's a new yoga practice that takes your normal everyday yoga into the sauna!!

That's right... you're basically in a sauna, cooking, and doing yoga poses!! This my friend is not an easy feat!

I'm pretty comfortable with my yoga level... I mean I could use a little more practice, especially if one day I'd like to teach it.... been pondering the idea... but anyway.... one rule of thumb when practicing yoga is breathing!! Sounds simple enough, how can one forget to breathe?! But when your in triangle pose, clutching onto your toe for dear life, you may be holding your breath! And even though is is a no-no, it's an even bigger no-no in hot yoga!!

I believe it was half way through the class when I started feeling very light-headed.... started seeing little black dots in my vision.... the teacher's voice seemed lower and lower... more and more distant... this is when I said... I need to sit!!

I sat out for 5 mins.... and took the poses easy... after all, it was my first hot yoga class! My bendy pretzel yoga partner didn't have a problem though! So if does affect people differently!

Let me tell you one thing though! Oooooh boy was I drenched!!! Wouldn't be surprised if I lost 5 pounds in water weight alone!! And yes, you do get as wet as the pic below! If not more!

What an experience! Definitely will do it again... in fact, every Tuesday and Thursday at least, until April - cuz that's when my 1 month unlimited membership ends!!

Wish me luck!!

o-m-g! Really?!

Would you Vajazzle yourself?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnDwcSfL2Tw&feature=player_embedded

if so.... you're not my friend!

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Cake number..... oh, I've lost count!

I like making cakes… I do! I just wish my oven wasn't broken and that there was a store that sold the fondant close by!

This particular cake was a nightmare!!!

Firstly, I went out after work one day, in a snow storm, to buy the fondant! I didn't drive though this time, I took the subway all the way out to Kipling station! Then started walking, forgetting that I was not on Bloor like I was suppose to be, but that the subway turns onto Dundas West at Kipling station!! Ughhhh!!

Twenty mins later, I arrive at the store! Thank God!! And to make things better, the fondant is half the price I usually pay when I trek out to Milton to buy some! Fantatic! So I make my way back home on the subway eager to start the cake!

9pm -

I make fresh cream cheese icing for the cake (it was a carrot cake) and layer on the parts of the two-tiered cake! Soon enough, they start sliding off eachother… I thought "greaaaat!" I probably didn't use enough icing sugar! Baaah!!

So I fix them and roll out the fondant to begin covering it and, well not much to my surprise considering the price difference, this particular brand of fondant sucks!! It's too thin, too soft and hard to roll without breaking!!

Either way, I try…. Once, twice, three times, then I'm cursing out loud!! Godammit it's not working!! The cakes are stiff shifting, the fondant is sliding off with the icing making it all drop over to the sides… it's starting to look like a marshmellow!! The fondant got so thin, you could see every bump of the cake!

The catastrophe……
11:30 pm -

Scrap that idea!! I take all the fondant off and go to Metro to buy more icing sugar, coconut, and cream cheese! I'm gonna make it look like a traditional carrot cake with coconut on the sides!!!

Thank GOD it works!!!

Finished piece……

1:30am!!

Amen to that!


Thank you to the lovely Miss Ana who so gracefully showcases the book on my favourite page!

Book Club - March pick!

I was finishing reading a book I've be mulling over for quite some time now (and yes, I actually did force myself to finish it) and thought to myself... I wish I read more... and maybe different types of books, since I'm always attracted to one specific genre!

So I joined a book club!

Every month one of us is in charge of picking a book & a location to meet to discuss it there after!

Rules are:
1 - you can't have read the book before
2 - you have one month to complete the book
3 - we meet the first Monday of the last week of the month to discuss

March is my friend Ana's month!

She has chosen a book called Brick Lane by Monica Ali

Synopsis - Nazneen is forced to marry a man 20 yrs her senior in an arranged marriage who picks her up and moves to London. There she must learn to live in a diverse city with many cultural differences. She struggles to be the obedient wife and mother but soon falls into an affair with a younger man, and must choose between her old certainties and new chaos.

Seems interesting enough... although it's a bit hard to get into! Reviews have said the same, and that it is worth the read so let's hope it's a good one!

So Ana, your choice.... where we meeting up?!

Ode to Marilyn......


I've always loved Marilyn Monroe... not for her raciness, but for her showing the world that beauty does not always look like a stick-insect! She was a voluptuous size 14, which curves, boobs and a butt!! What a real woman is! Despite her actually being quite thin in the photo above, I particularly like this shot of her because it shows her innocence and beauty before Hollywood corrupted her and she gave into all it's sins and sadness.

I especially like her in a movie called "Some Like it Hot" with Tony Curtis! If you haven't seen it, you should! She plays a perfect blond airhead, but she was a very smart, intelligent woman!

We love you Marilyn! Even when the air is lifting your skirt, you're not a slut in our eyes! :)

Ewwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhh!

Ewwwwwhhhhhhhhhh!

p.s- post cooking burn!!

So during our last cooking session (the stuffed chicken breasts) I attempted to move the tray with the potatoes roasting and ended up touching the hot, burning rack!!

Although it really hurt at the time, I didn't think it was gonna leave a mark, seeing as the area was just a tad red!

This is the result:
Sucks!! Now I look like a leopard!! All spotted!! (the big burn that looks like a fetus was actually a steam burn from the kettle at work!) p.s - please ignore the very hairy european arm hair I've been lucky enough to be passed on from my mother and grandmother!

Tasty Tuesdays!

So my buddy Vio and I have agreed to improve on our culinary skills and begin a tradition - if we can keep it going - to cook together every Tuesday night!

We'll use her place, seeing as poor ol' me still lives with the parents and God forbid I use my moms' kitchen!! And we will alternate on who chooses the recipes!

It went well for 3 weeks so far! The 4th week we went to a Home Show at the Ex, and this Tuesday her bf was home, so we didn't cook.... but this SHALL resume!!!

Below are some pics of our lovely and very yummy creations thus far:

Home made sauce!
Meal 1 - Tomato bacon pasta with salad!
our pretty little set-up!
Meal 3 - Stuffed Chicken breast with goat cheese and spinach, with salad and roasted potatoes!
yummy!
We forgot to take a pic of meal 2, but it was a different type of pasta as well! Let's hope it continues! I could buff up my skills!

wow it's been a while........

so clearly I've been busy!!

Last post was Jan 8th!! wow!! what have I been up to??! I wish I could tell you, honestly, but it's all a blur!!

Anway....

I shall resume... hopefully with one post everyday, if possible!!

My fans, how you've missed me.... I'm sure! :p

Friday, January 8, 2010

whatcha reading!?

So I've been working/nursing 2 books now since, ha, last year!! One is 'The Lost Symbol' by Dan Brown and the other is 'Lullaby' by Chuck Palianunck (or something like that!)
I can't bring myself to finish reading either to be honest!

When I like, no, not like.... when I looove a book, I can't put it down! I will read it every opportunity I get and am usually done in a week or two! Although these two authors are my favourites, I can't seem to get through this books!

Even by forcing myself.... ugh!! I'm in a rut!

Dan Brown wrote a bunch of great books! All of which I read and fast! Angels and Demons was fantastic! The DaVinci Code was the first book I ever read without actually being told to read it! Even the two less popular books, Digital Fortress and Deception Point were quick, easy reads for me! Adventures full of mystery, conspiracies and intense characters! This book however is just bland to me.... so far anyway! He's just stayed so true to his previous way of writing, which I initially loved, but can't seem to get sucked into as usual! Another turn off for me is the thickness of the book... I used to love reading big, thick books because they gave me a sense of accomplishment when I was done! Now I prefer smaller, get-to-the-point books!

Chuck Palahniuk has written great, interesting, weird novels!! The author of 'Fight Club' obviously got his recognition when Brad Pitt and Edward Norton starred as his characters on the big screen! His less famous books are just as good, full of weird, twisted, often dark sense of humour that I can appreciate! My first book of his 'Invisible Monsters' did in fact take me longer than usual to finish, and was confusing as shit in the beginning, but I'm glad I stuck with it because it didn't disappoint in the end... and as with most Palahniuk novels, ended with a surprise twist ending! I want to finish this book so badly.... and despite it's size (which is quite small) you'd think I could read it all in one sitting.... but he's a little harder to digest than Dan Brown....

Either way, I'm sure I'll finish them! I should finish 'The Lost Symbol' first though, since I told Nicolas he can borrow it when I'm done!

Check them out.... I'm sure they are good reads... my mind is probably just being lazy!!

<--------------- Feed my fish!!!!

They're hungry!!

RIP Baby

My cat 'Baby' passed away January 2, 2010 :(

I'm still very heart broken by it and still feel guilty about having to decide to put her down. But I couldn't be selfish and put her through pain, just because I didn't want to deal with losing another pet. Baby was a 10 yr old white cat with beige and gray spots and beautiful green eyes.

So this is my goodbye to Baby.... I hope you forgive me and I miss you at my feet every night. I love you! :)


Resolutions................ ummmm..........

I don't usually make resolutions! Because I'm a firm believer that rules are meant to be broken... well, not meant to all the time... just happen to sometimes... and making new rules for myself in the new year only leads to disappointing results and who needs to start off the new year disappointed?!

But! With that said.... maybe I'll come up with a pseudo list of rules/resolutions to live by this year:

1- I will be less superstitious! - I will not believe that I will receive 7 years of bad luck for not forwarding an email about astrology to my friends!
2- I will only purchase a Starbucks/Second Cup latte twice a week (not including weekends!) - enough of my hard earned money gets pumped into those uber big companies who don't actually need it as much as I do!
3- I will drink more than 1.5 Liters of water a day! - this aids in dehydration, helps the skin look younger, and will give me even more of an excuse to get off my ass at my desk and run to the washroom every ten minutes!
4- I will go to the gym at least 3 times a week! - or have some sort of physical activity to make the heart pump faster... this includes sexual relations with the boy toy!
5- I will learn to walk in heels again! - because even though it's bad for your posture and body, I wanna look damn sexy and not like an idiot on stilts!
6- I will eat more green vegetables! - because my poop is rarely ever greenish and I think this might do the trick!
7- I will find a way to have ice cream and not poop it all out half hr later! - hhmmm, Lactaid doesn't work, and I've built an immunity to lactose pills in general.... gonna have to get scientific on this one!
8- I will write a short story! - and not the beginning of one and just leave it half way through when I get bored of it!
9- I will do more yoga! - as I age, my flexibility is getting worse, hence, yoga makes it all better!
10- I will not cry over everything! - being super emotional, crazy irrational, and stupidly sensitive will not get me or my point across ever... so I will work on becoming a stone cold bitch!
11- I will make more friends! - I will widen my circle of acquaintances/friends, maybe even join social clubs of some sort!
12- I will limit my chocolate intake! - maybe to once a day.....
13- I will make lists! - because there is always so much to do, and so little time, that I end up forgetting important stuff!
14- I will be more firm with my decisions! - and not buckle and stand tall!
15- I will learn to say "No" and not feel guilty about it! - because Dr. Phil told me I should!
16- I will wear more yellow! - because bright colours may make us look heavier, but make us more happy!
17- I will learn a new skill! - maybe fencing! or line dancing! or Zumba!!
18- I will go horse-back riding! - because I wanna!!!!!
19- I will find a job that doesn't use, abuse, and make me miserable! - cuz I wanna be appreciated, admired, and make more money!
20- I will do more things for myself! - just because my Virgo sign is a servant, doesn't mean I should be!
21- I will love unconditionally, nag less, and not pressure others to see things my way! - instead I will do to them as they do to me! Sometimes that's the only way people learn!

oooook.... I could keep going but I'll stop there!

HAPPPPPPPY NEW YEAR!!!


Dear Readers, Loyal fans, and fabulous friends.....

My deepest and most heartfelt hopes for a very happy, prosperous, shiny, lucky, fantastic, full of love new year!! May 2010 bring you everything you crave, desire, need, and want!!

xoxoxo
Veronica